Congressman Al Green’s Statement on the Introduction of H.R. 5510, The Reentry and Reunification Act of 2018

Apr 20, 2018

Washington, D.C. – On Friday, (April 20, 2018) - Congressman Al Green released the following statement regarding his introduction of H.R. 5510:
“I am proud to have had the support of Rep. Gutiérrez, along with 24 of my colleagues when I introduced H.R. 5510, the Reentry and Reunification Act of 2018. This legislation will reunite deserving families by providing a verified pathway to U.S. citizenship for individuals who have no criminal history, who were deported, and who have a spouse or children who are currently U.S. citizens.
“Under current law, if someone entered the country unlawfully, made any attempt to reenter, or was deported, they are immediately excluded from applying for citizenship in the U.S. due to the punitive nature of our current immigration system. However, this bill would remove those barriers to re-entry if the individual is the spouse or parent of a U.S. citizen and does not have a criminal history.
“Hard-working families like the Escobar’s are my motivation for taking up this fight to bring back a constituent who was unjustly deported and torn away from his community. Jose Escobar, a 31-year-old Houstonian husband and father, was deported from the U.S. on March 7, 2017. He came to this country at the age of 16 and is married to a U.S. citizen, Rose Escobar. He is also the father of two American children, Walter and Carmen. Despite having made a home here with his American-born wife and his two American-born children, he was abruptly and unjustly deported last year.
“Families are a cornerstone of our country, and our government should not be in the business of tearing them apart. We need legislation like The Reentry and Reunification Act to create a more just and humane immigration system and ensure that we are giving all hardworking families every opportunity to thrive.”
The original cosponsors of H.R. 5510 are: Rep. Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20); Rep. Anthony G. Brown (MD-04); Rep. Barbara Lee (CA-13); Rep. Bennie G. Thompson (MS-02); Rep. Bobby L. Rush (IL-01); Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12); Rep. Brenda L. Lawrence (MI-14); Rep. Danny K. Davis (IL-07); Rep. Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10); Rep. Dwight Evans (PA-02); Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30); Rep. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05); Rep. Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24); Rep. Hakeem S. Jeffries (NY-08); Rep. Henry C. “Hank” Johnson, Jr. (GA-04); Rep. James E. Clyburn (SC-06); Rep. John Lewis (GA-05); Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37); Rep. Keith Ellison (MN-05); Rep. Luis V. Gutiérrez  (IL-04); Rep. Marc A. Veasey (TX-33); Rep. Robin L. Kelly (IL-02); Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18); Rep. Wm. Lacy Clay (MO-01); Rep. Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09).